Common People Records - Label & Mailorder
  Top » Catalog » Common People Records » LP My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   
Common People Records
Vinyl covers
Modus Vivendi Streetwear
What's New? more
Gonna Get Yours "A thousand faces"
Gonna Get Yours "A thousand faces"
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
Shipping & Returns
Privacy Notice
Conditions of Use
Contact Us
We distribute...
Join us on...
Paypal Accepted
CPR012-Subculture "The Early Years" (Red vinyl)

Subculture was formed by school friends Dean Tyrrell (Guitar) and Phil Parker (Bass) in late 1980. After some months find Nigel Kimberly (as drummer) and the singer Tom Hipkin. In April 1982, the band then recorded demos at the now mythical Spaceward Studios, with whom Stiff Little Fingers had recorded Inflammable Material, and Iron Maiden had cut their first recordings. Voice of the Young, University City and The first version of Stick Together. During their first years supporting bands as Red Alert, at Skunx they also played with Blitz, The Business, and Peter and the Test Tube Babies amongst others, and established themselves in the street punk / Oi scene forming in London at the time. Mentions in the music press followed, with encouraging reviews, particularly in Sounds and Melody Maker. The Band were on the way: "Subculture show a lot of promise for the future " and "the sort of band you could see yourself raving about after seeing them a few times” Despite being labelled "young Cockney Rejects sound-a-likes”, they didn't see it as such a bad thing at the time. In May 1982, guitarist Dean received a phone call from Laurie Pryor inviting the band contribute a track on the 4th Oi! album, "Oi, Oi, that's yer lot!". They chose 'Stick Together', which was produced by Micky Geggus. The band's debut and only single "Loud and Clear E.P" came out in the early summer of 1983, with a new version of University City and Rogue Trooper recorded back at Spaceward especially for the single, so we all behaved ourselves and pretended to be professionals for the session. The single made a good showing in the Indie top 40 for a few weeks. Common People Records presents all tracks recorded by the band in their first years (included Demos), with the 3 tracks that includes “Loud & Clear” EP (1983), “Give Up Boys” recorded at the same session that “Loud & Clear” EP, “Stick Together” anthem taken from “Oi! Oi! That’s Yer Lot” classic compilation and the rest taken from ABH/Subculture “The Oi! Collection” CD released by Captain Oi!. Limited edition to 520 copies! 10 tracks!


  1. Loud &Clear
  2. Rogue Trooper
  3. University City
  4. In my Time
  5. Run & Hide
  6. University City (Demo)
  7. Voice of the Young (Demo)
  8. Better than You
  9. Give Up Boys
  10. Stick Together

For more information, please visit this products webpage.
This product was added to our catalog on Tuesday 06 October, 2015.
Customers who bought this product also purchased
Gonna Get Yours "No Picture-No Glory"
Gonna Get Yours "No Picture-No Glory"
Angelic Upstarts "Brighton Bomb"
Angelic Upstarts "Brighton Bomb"
Rixe "Coups Et Blessures" (4th press)
Rixe "Coups Et Blessures" (4th press)
Bishops Green "A chance to change"
Bishops Green "A chance to change"
The Ejected "A touch of class"
The Ejected "A touch of class"
The Burial "A day on the town"
The Burial "A day on the town"
The Business "Saturdays Heroes"
The Business "Saturdays Heroes"
Skinkorps "Il Faudra Bien Vous y Faire" (Gatefold)
Skinkorps "Il Faudra Bien Vous y Faire" (Gatefold)
Sun City Skins/F.A.V.L. "Split"
Sun City Skins/F.A.V.L. "Split"
Lion's Law "Open your Eyes"
Lion's Law "Open your Eyes"
Tolbiac's Toads "L'intégrale 1982/1994" (Gatefold)
Tolbiac's Toads "L'intégrale 1982/1994" (Gatefold)
Taxi Driver "Tout est efface par le temps"
Taxi Driver "Tout est efface par le temps"
Shopping Cart more
1 x Close Shave “Hard as Nails” (Red vinyl)
1 x Argy Bargy "The like of us" (Gatefold)
1 x Asedio "s/t"
1 x Another Man's Poison "Oi! Discography vol.1" (Green vinyl)
1 x 4 Skins "The Good, the Bad & the 4 Skins" (180gr. vinyl)
1 x Bishops Green "Pressure" (3rd press/180gr.)
1 x Cinderblock "s/t"
1 x Bishops Green "s/t" (4th press)
1 x Another Man's Poison "Oi! Discography vol.1"
1 x Blitz "Voice of a Generation"
1 x Bonecrusher "Working for nothing" (White vinyl)
1 x Bad Manners "Return of the ugly"
1 x 4 Skins "Low Life"
1 x Chaos UK "Total Chaos-The singles"
1 x Baldin Bada "Maketak 1985"
1 x Argy Bargy "Drink, Drugs and Football thugs" (Gatefold)
1 x Brassknuckle "Skinhead 82"
1 x Cockney Rejects "East End Babylon"
1 x Abriendo Cabezas "La capacidad de pensar"
1 x Brigada Criminal "Gure Mandamentuak"
1 x Chaos "1980/1986" (Vinilo rojo)
1 x Bishops Green "A chance to change"
1 x 13ème "Section ‎1983-1987 Paris Banlieue Sud"
1 x Arthur Kay & The Originals "Rare'n'Tasty"
1 x Alternate Action "Thin Line" (2nd press/Red vinyl)
1 x Aut Aut "Musica di Periferia"
1 x Bonecrusher "Followers of a brutal calling" (Red vinyl)
1 x Brighton 64 "Fotos del ayer (1982-1987)"
1 x Argy Bargy "Songs from the streets" (Gatefold)
1 x Blitz "The Killing Dream"
1 x Accident "A Clockwork Legion"
1 x Badlands "Hands of Time"
1 x Chelsea "s/t"
1 x Alliance "Evil"
1 x Antisocial "Battle Scarred Skinheads"
1 x CPR003-Acero Condal "Barcelona" (Red Vinyl)
1 x CPR006-PennyCocks "Do It Cock"
1 x CPR015-La Inquisición "s/t"
1 x CPR007-The Urgent Kicks "In the Wrong place ep"
1 x CPR001-PennyCocks "s/t" (2nd press/Blue Vinyl)
1 x CPR013-Fred and The Perrys "Xa Non Hai Xustiza"
1 x CPR018-Paris Violence "Impossible n'est pas Français-Demos & Rarities 1995"
Notifications more
NotificationsNotify me of updates to CPR012-Subculture "The Early Years" (Red vinyl)
Tell A Friend
Tell someone you know about this product.
Reviews more
Write ReviewWrite a review on this product!
Español English
Copyright © 2018 Common People Records - Label & Mailorder
Powered by osCommerce

Common People Records - Label & Mailorder